Melt in your Mouth

IMG_9219

This isn’t going to be a long drawn out post. I would prefer to think of it as a rather humble plea to go out and try something new regarding the more ‘exotic’ food items available these days. In this age of high sugar, fast processed foods you owe it to yourself to enjoy some amazing produce once in a while. Try that Lobster, try that Fois Gras, try those Truffles, Bone Marrow, Squid ink etc etc (catch my drift?)

So practising what I preach, I decided to have a crack at some Cabassi and Rea 100% (600 day Grain Fed) pure Black Label Wa-Gyu. I chose a piece around 200 grams and @ $100 per/kilo so it wasn’t cheap. Quality not quantity right?

Anyway this stuff is about as close to bovine heaven as you can get and literally needs 2-3 minutes total cook time. Season well with quality seasalt and flash through a pretty hot non stick pan. Rest for around 2-3 minutes in a warm place then slice; I had mine with a tiny splash of Kikkoman Soy, sesame oil and wasabi….. texture and mouth feel about as close to butter as butter itself !! A truly amazing experience and one I think everyone should enjoy at least once in their life. Long live the Beef !!!

IMG_9221 IMG_9225 IMG_9234


Leave a comment